Skip to content

Start of the semester webinar

We are pleased to announce the first StatPREP webinar of the 2018-19 academic year.

Title:  Using StatPREP Little Apps to Teach Descriptive Statistics

Date: Sep 7, 2018

Time: Noon PDT, 1 pm  MDT, 2 pm CDT, 3 pm EDT

How to join:  Please click the link below to join the webinar: 

https://zoom.us/j/532717173?pwd=RzN6N1JIcExHQ2lJcTczZVBHNGxHdz09

Password: statprep18

Or iPhone one-tap :

    US: +14086380968,,532717173#  or +16468769923,,532717173# 

Or Telephone:

    Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location): 

        US: +1 408 638 0968  or +1 646 876 9923  or +1 669 900 6833 

    Webinar ID: 532 717 173

Summary:  This webinar will focus on the nuts and bolts of designing a class lesson around using the little apps for teaching descriptive statistics.  The webinar will include:

  • Where to find the little apps
  • How to use the little app to demonstrate center and spread
  • Picking different response variables
  • Showing mean and standard deviation in the graphical output
  • Showing 95% confidence interval to introduce the idea of inference
  • Choosing an explanatory variable and then discussing difference in means
  • Some comments on sample size
  • Types of assessment that could be done
  • Time for webinar participants to ask questions

 

Data science at two-year colleges

StatPREP leaders Kate Kozak (Coconino Community College and AMATYC), Doug Ensley (MAA), and Danny Kaplan (Macalester College), represented StatPREP at last week’s “Two-Year College Data Science Summit”. The purpose of the summit Read more

Getting a handle on ANOVA: Webinar for 20 April 2018

By the end of April, many of us will be near the end of the semester. In terms of teaching statistics, that means we’re approaching the point of decision: Should I cover ANOVA or not?

This webinar is about ANOVA, seen from a perspective that we think makes it much easier Read more

Applications are open for Summer 2018 workshops!

Applications are now being accepted for the Highline and Hartford workshops.

  • University of Hartford (CT) Friday/Saturday June 1/2

  • Highline College (Seattle, WA) Friday/Saturday June 15/16

Application form.

Application deadline: April 17, 2018

For more information: see what’s in a StatPREP workshop and the schedule from our pilot 2017 workshops

Little Apps for teaching stats

As part of the StatPREP project, we have also been developing apps. The StatPREP philosophy is to be data front-and-center in statistics. Consequently, our apps are based entirely in displays of data.  We are calling them “Little Apps”, since each app uses a standard graphical modalities for displaying data. We do add statistical annotations Read more